Vineyards, Wine, and Churches: Everything There Is To Love About Vienna, Austria

2014-05-12 18.14.05

I can’t believe it’s been over a year since my last post!  There have been plenty of adventures to talk about but, my favorite was my very first trip to Europe.  My sister lives in Vienna, Austria right now while she studies for her PhD at the University of Vienna.  I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to go and stay with her for two full weeks.

2014-05-12 17.28.27

The first week I spent in Vienna it rained almost the whole time and was about 55 degrees every day!  This was less than ideal but, Vienna has a certain charm and beauty that can’t be over shadowed by rain and storms.  I spent my days wandering the grounds of large palaces like Schonbrunn and watching the Lippazaners perform their dances that date back hundreds of years ago.  Coming from the Midwest, Minnesota specifically, the history was incredible to me.  I couldn’t wrap my mind around how old everything was, and how much thought was put into every detail.

Vienna is a city of old grandeur and romance.  The Viennese are not exactly the most outgoing people but, they are friendly and luckily almost everyone speaks perfect English (since my German speaking abilities end at Dankeshein).  There is an infinite number of things to do in the city and if you’re a big museum goer it is well worth buying the museum package to save money.  It also must be mentioned that you should not go to Vienna expecting to eat super healthy, unless you don’t like chocolate, wine, or cheese.

2014-05-13 16.28.11

The Viennese woods are a great escape from the city and offer lush greenery surrounded by rolling hills and beautiful wineries.  We hiked up through the woods to the top of one of the highest peaks in Vienna and were rewarded with an amazing view of the entire city and a cute cafe that served wine, coffee, and ice cream.  Don’t be shocked when an entire tour bus of Japanese tourists overflow the area in their matching colorful wind suits and fancy Nikon cameras.  They only stay a few minutes so it’s worth it to wait a minute and you will be rewarded with a few moments alone.

 

2014-05-12 18.43.28

Everyone knows that Vienna is filled with amazing churches that include dramatic monasteries, wine cellars, and sometimes art galleries.  We arrived at one of the monasteries just outside of Vienna in the late afternoon and saw that a funeral was just ending.  It must have been for someone important because there were many high ranking officials and members of the church present.  The beauty of the grounds was mesmerizing.  I’m not religious by any means, yet somehow knowing that people had been coming to this spot for hundreds of years to pray was very humbling.  It’s one of those times where you can sit back and marvel in the world and that exact moment.

 

DSC_0491

2014-05-13 21.51.01

In general Vienna is not extraordinarily cheap and if you do like museums and to eat out a lot, expect to spend money.  However, I felt that I was able to do it very cheaply by not visiting all museums, just seeing the ones I wanted, and not adding in all the little extras that cost a couple euro here and there.  I also held back and did not do any shopping (which is very difficult for me)!  Simply take a walk down the side streets and explore the heart of what Vienna is, you will be surprised by the architecture and little nooks and crannies that accompany all the unique doors and buildings.

 

 

Leave a comment